About Us

HRSA has awarded 10 regional projects and one award for a National Coordinating Center for Public Health Training. The purpose of the Public Health Training Program is to improve the nation’s public health by strengthening the technical, scientific, managerial and leadership competencies of the current and future public health workforce through the provision of education and training services.

The Region V Great Lakes Public Health Training Collaborative (PHTC), one of the 10 regional projects, consists of a central coordinating office and six Local Performance Sites (LPS), which are spread across each state in the region. The University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health (Illinois) serves as the Collaborative’s central office for Region V and they work collaboratively with Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin to develop regional training programs and work in coordination on state-specific training. The Great Lakes PHTC also has a Regional Advisory Committee that provides guidance for the region. The Collaborative is an unprecedented partnership to establish and implement a unified strategic approach to improving the workforce development infrastructure of the entire region. Because each of the six Local Performance Sites were also former Public Health Training Centers in a previous HRSA grant, the region has unique expertise, resources, and partnerships that together form a strong foundation for public health workforce development and capacity building. Region V proposes to address a shared regional theme of capacity building for population health improvement.

Click to learn more about the HRSA Public Health Training Centers.

To learn more about the Region V Great Lakes Public Health Training Collaborative, click on the sections below to expand or shrink each section and get more information.

Regional Advisory Committee
Illinois
Laurie Call
Director, Center for Community Capacity Development
Illinois Public Health Institute
laurie.call@iphionline.org

Tom Hughes
Executive Director, Illinois Public Health Association
thughes@ipha.com

Indiana
Gabriel Filippelli, PhD
Professor, Earth Sciences
Director, Center for Urban Health
gfilippe@iupui.edu

Indra Frank, MD
Director, Environmental Health
Hoosier Environmental Council
ifrank@hecweb.org

Michigan
Angela J. Beck, PhD, MPH
Research Assistant Professor
Associate Director, Center of Excellence in Public Health Workforce Studies
Department of Health Management and Policy
Managing Editor, American Journal of Preventive Medicine
University of Michigan School of Public Health
ajbeck@umich.edu

Meghan Swain
Executive Director, Michigan Association for Local Public Health
mswain@malph.org

Minnesota
Lisa Brodsky, MPH, CEM
Assistant Public Health Administrator
Emergency Preparedness Manager
lbrodsky@BloomingtonMN.gov

Kelly Chandler MS, RN, PHN
Public Health Division Manager
Itasca County Health and Human Services
kelly.chandler@co.itasca.mn.us

Ohio
Amy Bush-Stevens, MPH, MSW
Director, Prevention and Public Health Policy
Health Policy Institute of Ohio
astevens@healthpolicyohio.org

Lois Hall, MS
Executive Director, Ohio Public Health Association
ohiopha@gmail.com

Wisconsin
Mark Edgar, PhD, MPH
UW Population Health Institute
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
medgar@wisc.edu

Nancy Sugden
Director, Wisconsin AHEC System
Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health
nasugden@wisc.edu

Great Lakes Public Health Coalition
Elise Papke, DrPH
Senior Public Health Specialist
UWM Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health
mepapke@uwm.edu

Central Coordinating Office
The Great Lakes PHTC’s central office is housed at the University of Illinois at Chicago within the School of Public Health’s MidAmerica Center for Public Health Practice.

Click to visit the UIC School of Public Health's MidAmerica Center for Public Health Practice
UIC MidAmerica Center for Public Health Practice
Principal Investigator
Christina Welter, DrPH, MPH
Director
cwelte2@uic.edu

Program Coordinator
Sophie Naji
Program Manager
smaali@uic.edu
Illinois

The Illinois LPS consists of the following organizations:

Click to visit the Illinois Department of Public Health

Illinois Department of Public Health
Click to visit the Illinois Public Health Association

Illinois Public Health Association
Click to visit the Illinois Primary Health Care Association

Illinois Primary Health Care Association
Click to visit the Illinois Public Health Institute

Illinois Public Health Institute
Click to visit the UIC School of Public Health's MidAmerica Center for Public Health Practice
UIC MidAmerica Center for Public Health Practice
Program Coordinator
Devangna "Guddi" Kapadia, MS, MPH
Assistant Director
UIC MidAmerica Center for Public Health Practice
guddi@uic.edu
Indiana

Indiana’s LPS is housed at the Indiana University Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health at IUPUI within the Indiana Public Health Training Center.

Click to visit the Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health at IUPUI Indiana Public Health Training Center

Indiana Public Health Training Center
Principal Investigator
Carole Kacius, PhD
Associate Dean of Education and Training
kacius@iu.edu

Program Coordinator
JoBeth McCarthy-Jean, MPH
Director
jomccart@iu.edu
Michigan

Michigan’s LPS is housed at the University of Michigan within the School of Public Health’s Michigan Public Health Training Center.

Click to visit the University of Michigan School of Public Health's Public Health Training Center

Michigan Public Health Training Center
Principal Investigator
Phyllis D. Meadows, PhD, MSN, RN
Associate Dean for Practice
pmeadows@umich.edu

Program Coordinator
Phoebe Goldberg, MPH, CHES
Program Manager
gophoebe@umich.edu
Minnesota

Minnesota’s LPS is housed at the University of Minnesota within the School of Public Health’s Centers for Public Health Education and Outreach.

Click to visit the University of Minnesota School of Public Health Centers for Public Health  Education and Outreach

UMN Centers for Public Health Education and Outreach
Principal Investigator
Rhonda Jones-Webb, DrPH, MPH
Professor
jones010@umn.edu

Program Coordinator
Carrie Vogelsang, MPH
Education Program Specialist
vogel330@umn.edu
Ohio

Ohio’s LPS is housed at the Ohio State University within the College of Public Health’s Center for Public Health Practice.

Click to visit The Ohio State University College of Public Health Center for Public Health Practice

OSU Center for Public Health Practice
Principal Investigator
Michael Bisesi, PhD
Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Associate Professor
mbisesi@cph.osu.edu

Program Coordinator
Melissa Sever, MPH, MCHES
Senior Program Manager
msever@cph.osu.edu
Wisconsin

Wisconsin’s LPS is housed at the University of Wisconsin within the School of Medicine and Public Health’s Wisconsin Center for Public Health Education and Training.

Click to visit the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health Wisconsin Center for Public Health Education and Training

Wisconsin Center for Public Health Education and Training
Principal Investigator
Barbara Duerst, MS
MPH Associate Program Director
bduerst@wisc.edu

Program Coordinator
Janice Valenzuela, DVM, MPH
jrvalenzuela@wisc.edu